Frank Shamrock decided to knee Renzo Gracie in the back of his head… TWICE!!! while they were both on the ground. That’s clearly illegal, and Shamrock was rightfully DISQUALIFIED.
The win goes to Renzo Gracie.
It’s pretty ridiculous that Shamrock’s “defense” was “I thought we came here to fight”. That doesn’t have anything to do with the clear and obvious rules that are explained to everyone before the fight… WAY before the fight. It’s not possible that Shamrock didn’t know knees or kicks to the head while your opponent is on the mat are illegal. On top of that, you can clearly see that Shamrock had his hand on Renzo’s head. He MOVED HIS HAND so he could knee Renzo, then put his hand back. He MOVED HIS HAND AGAIN so he could knee Renzo in the head AGAIN, and then put his hand back. CLEARLY illegal. CLEARLY intentional. Pathetic. :/
Apparently, Shamrock knew the rules of the match, because he was stalling on the bottom and looking for the ref to stand them back up again. How is it that he knew that there was a 15-second rule in effect, but he didn’t know kicks/knees to the head while your opponent’s on the mat are illegal? That’s good for him that he got disqualified. It would LITERALLY have been insult to injury if anything less had been the decision. No draw, No win, No “no contest”… D.Q. Period.
That’s pretty disgusting. Shamrock looked pretty smug at the end of the fight, but he SHOULD feel embarrassed. Maybe he thought it was still back in the day when A) just about anything was legal, and B) there weren’t cameras to record what you did and play it back to everyone in the arena on the spot. There was no reason for Renzo to feel he had to defend himself against knee strikes while he was on the ground. EVERYONE, including Shamrock KNEW that’s illegal. Renzo had control of both of Shamrock’s arms, so he wasn’t worried about elbows either. That was a completely pathetic showing by Shamrock. He completely cheated everyone out of seeing the true potential outcome of that fight.
I hope Renzo’s ok.